Image may contain: 2 people, drink and indoor

Mayor Dimnatang “Jimmy” B.L. Pansar of the Municipality of Butig, Lanao del Sur expressing his support and participation to the inter-leadership coordinative body of the Province of Lanao del Sur. October 30, 2017. Seda Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City. (c) Hazelyn Gaudiano, IAG  

The first meeting of the members of the Technical Working Group happened on 30 October 2017 at Seda Hotel, Cagayan de Oro City. It was organized by the Provincial Government of Lanao del Sur, and co-facilitated by the Institute for Autonomy and Governance through its program EnPold Bangsamoro.

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling, people sitting and indoor
The formation of the group aims to harness the political and religious authorities of the province, the Ulama group and the Sultanate leadership to establish a sustainable inter-leadership collaborative body that is especially designed towards curbing and preventing the violent extremist groups’ stronghold within the province.

The TWG will serve as an arena for the discussion of policy recommendations on the aspect of governance, and to create a credible platform for dialogue among sectors in the Maranaw society. The dialogue process will lead to the establishment of a regular knowledge-sharing and skills-sharing arena where current issues will be discussed, resolved, and implemented by the provincial government with strong support and participation of the Ulama and the Sultans. The dialogue arena will be linked with mandated bodies such as the Provincial Peace and Order Council (PPOC).

The working group is scheduled to meet once every two months, with additional technical meetings if necessary during the interim.